Subsection 2.—Provincial Departments of Agriculture*

Prince Edward Island.—The Department of Agriculture is presided over by a Minister, and the staff consists of a Deputy Minister and live-stock superintendent, a superintendent of women's institutes, a dairy superintendent, three field promoters and a field man for the fox industry. Assistance is given in co-operative marketing, promotion of the live-stock industry, encouragement of exhibitions, the formation of boys' and girls' clubs and the welfare of agriculture generally.

Nova Scotia.—Provincial agricultural policies in Nova Scotia are administered by the Department of Agriculture and Marketing, with the Minister's Office and those of the Director of Marketing, the Land Settlement Board, Statistician and Superintendent of Immigration, Publicity Representative, Forest Products Representative and Provincial Exhibition Commission, situated in Halifax. Many of the technical officials are located at the Agricultural College and Farm, Truro. Divisions of the Department include: extension service, agricultural societies, associations and exhibitions; dairying; poultry; live stock; entomology and botany; apiculture; animal pathology; agricultural engineering; and women's institutes.

New Brunswick.—The divisions of the Department of Agriculture of New Brunswick are as follows: live-stock and agricultural societies; dairying; herd improvement; soils and crops; poultry; horticulture; women's institutes; extension; industry, immigration and farm settlement; field husbandry; beekeeping; fur; and credit unions and co-operatives.

Quebec.—The Quebec Department of Agriculture includes the following branches: horticulture; field husbandry; extension; animal husbandry; rural economics; and rural engineering. Each branch is divided into sections dealing with particular problems. There are also many other activities such as the Quebec Farm Credit Bureau; Agricultural Merit Competition; Provincial Dairy School; Provincial School of Handicrafts; and Provincial Farm School. The Department is responsible for the administration of many agricultural schools, 132 agricultural representatives throughout the Province, a staff of specialists, co-operative associations and women's organizations. There is, therefore, an administrative service from which accurate information may be obtained for every kind of agricultural activity.

Ontario.—The Ontario Department of Agriculture includes the following branches: statistics and publications; agricultural and horticultural societies; live stock; women's institutes; dairy; fruit; agricultural representatives; crops, seeds and weeds; co-operation and markets, including administration of the Act recredit unions; and the Milk Control Board. The Department is responsible for the administration of the Ontario Agricultural College, the Ontario Veterinary College, the Kemptville Agricultural School, the experimental farms at Guelph, Ridgetown and Vineland, and demonstration farms at New Liskeard and Hearst.

Manitoba.—The Manitoba Department of Agriculture serves through the following branches: agricultural extension, dairy, publications, live stock, the Debt Adjustment Board and the Provincial Veterinary Laboratory.

^{*} For publications of provincial Departments of Agriculture, see in the index the entry "Publications of Provincial Governments".